Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 0086X-2017    Version: 1
Type: Ceremonial Resolution Status: Passed
File created: 3/24/2017 In control: Klein
On agenda: 3/27/2017 Final action: 3/29/2017
Title: To Congratulate Roberta Skok for Receiving the 2017 AFL-CIO George Meany Award
Sponsors: Zach M. Klein, Elizabeth Brown, Mitchell Brown, Shannon G. Hardin, Jaiza Page, Michael Stinziano, Priscilla Tyson


To Congratulate Roberta Skok for Receiving the 2017 AFL-CIO George Meany Award



WHEREAS, The George Meany Awards Banquet, the largest labor recognition of its kind in the country is a night for the Central Ohio AFL-CIO and the United Way Community Services Department to recognize local business and labor leaders who have given outstanding volunteer service to the community; and


WHEREAS, The George Meany Award, named after the late George Meany, former President of the national AFL-CIO, is presented by the Central Ohio AFL-CIO to a labor person for outstanding leadership and support of health, welfare and recreation services to the Central Ohio Community; and


WHEREAS, Roberta Skok began her career as a public employee in 1988 when she joined the Richland County Department of Job and Family Services as a caseworker and client advocate; and


WHEREAS, she quickly became a member of AFSCME Local 1295 where she served as president of the 100-member union from 1991-2000 when she joined AFSCME Ohio Council 8 as a staff representative; and


WHEREAS, Roberta has served as Ohio Council 8’s Columbus Regional Director and now serves on the Columbus-Franklin County AFL-CIO executive board and is a member of the Ashland Democratic Central Committee; and


WHEREAS, this year’s recipient, Roberta Skok, was raised up with union values and has raised her family with the same values with her husband who is a steelworker and their son and daughter-in-law are both members of AFSCME; therefore,


BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:  That this Council does hereby congratulate Roberta Skok, the recipient of the 2017 George Meany Award, whose leadership and voluntary commitment have made Columbus the best place to live, work, and raise a family.