

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Minutes - Final **Columbus City Council**

Monday, January 3, 2022

5:00 PM

City Council Chambers, Rm 231

ADJOURNMENT OF REGULAR MEETING NO. 56 FROM DECEMBER 13, 2021

A motion was made by Emmanuel V. Remy, seconded by Rob Dorans, to adjourn Regular Meeting #56 from December 13, 2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

REGULAR MEETING NO. 1 OF COLUMBUS CITY COUNCIL, JANUARY 3, 2022 at 5:00 P.M. IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS.

ROLL CALL

Present: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob

Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL

A motion was made by Shayla Favor, seconded by Emmanuel V. Remy, that Andrea Blevins be made Temporary President for the purpose of electing a Permanent President of Columbus City Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 -Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

ELECTION OF PERMANENT PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL

Temporary President Blevins opened the floor for nominations for Permanent President of Council.

A motion was made by Council Member Bankston to nominate Council Member Shannon G. Hardin as President of City Council.

Temporary President Blevins asked if there were any other nominations for President of City Council. Hearing none, the floor was closed for nominations.

Roll Call by Voice on the nomination of Shannon G. Hardin. All voted in the affirmative.

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT PRO TEM OF COUNCIL

President Hardin assumed the chair, and opened the floor for nominations for President Pro Tem of Council. Councilmember Barroso de Padilla motioned that Council Member Elizabeth Brown be appointed President Pro Tem of Columbus City Council.

Council President asked if there were any other nominations for President Pro Tem of City Council. Hearing none, the floor was closed for nominations.

Roll call by voice on the nomination of Elizabeth Brown. All voted in the affirmative.

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

APPOINTMENT OF CITY CLERK

A motion was made by Shannon G. Hardin, seconded by Elizabeth Brown, that Andrea Blevins be appointed as City Clerk effective January 3, 2022.

Roll Call. All voted in the affirmative. Motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

APPOINTMENT OF CITY TREASURER

A motion was made by Shannon G. Hardin, seconded by Emmanuel V. Remy, that Deborah Klie be appointed as City Treasurer effective January 3, 2022.

Roll call. All voted in the affirmative. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

READING AND DISPOSAL OF THE JOURNAL

A motion was made by Elizabeth Brown, seconded by Rob Dorans, to Dispense with the reading of the Journal and Approve. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

SR EMERGENCY, TABLED AND 2ND READING OF 30-DAY LEGISLATION

RULES & REFERENCE: HARDIN, CHR. BROWN REMY FAVOR

SR-1 0097-2022 To amend Section 111.04 of the Columbus City Codes relating to the Standing Committees of Council; and to declare an emergency.

Sponsors: Shannon G. Hardin

A motion was made by Shannon G. Hardin, seconded by Elizabeth Brown, that this Ordinance be Approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

READING OF STANDING COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

Due to technical difficulties, Clerk will read committee assignments into the record at the next regular meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Emmanuel V. Remy, seconded by Rob Dorans, to adjourn this Regular Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Affirmative: 7 - Nicholas Bankston, Lourdes Barroso De Padilla, Elizabeth Brown, Rob Dorans, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel Remy, and Shannon Hardin

ADJOURNED AT 5:14 P.M.