

City of Columbus

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	0100X-2017 Version: 1			
Туре:	Ceremonial Resolution	Status:	Passed	
File created:	3/30/2017	In control:	Stinziano	
On agenda:	4/17/2017	Final action:	4/20/2017	
Title:	To Recognize and Congratulate Dawn Heideman for Receiving the 2017 Jefferson Award.			
Sponsors:	Michael Stinziano, Elizabeth Brown, Mitchell Brown, Shannon G. Hardin, Jaiza Page, Priscilla Tyson, Zach M. Klein			
Indexes:				
.				

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/20/2017	1	CITY CLERK	Attest	
4/19/2017	1	MAYOR	Signed	
4/17/2017	1	COUNCIL PRESIDENT	Signed	
4/17/2017	1	Columbus City Council	Adopted	Pass

To Recognize and Congratulate Dawn Heideman for Receiving the 2017 Jefferson Award.

WHEREAS, The Annual Jefferson Awards are presented by WBNS-10TV, Schoedinger Funeral and Cremation Services, and Lifeline of Ohio to recognize individuals who do extraordinary things in their community without expecting anything in return; and

WHEREAS, Dawn Heideman is the founder and general manager of the Be The One program for at-risk students at Walnut Ridge High School; and

WHEREAS, Be The One focuses on trying to meet the social and emotional needs of students who are victims of violence, homelessness, abuse, and extreme poverty by encouraging, empowering, and inspiring students; and

WHEREAS, under Dawn Heideman's leadership, the program has grown from reaching 20 students in 2015, to 66 students in 2017, experienced students' grade point averages increase 72%, attendance increase 58%, and a 72% reduction in behavior incidents, while enhancing service learning opportunities, making blankets and grab bags for the local Ronald McDonald House and paper flowers for the patients at the James Cancer Hospital, making Be The One students feel they do have the power to change the world; and

WHEREAS, Dawn Heideman exemplifies commitment to improve life in her community, showing her to be a worthy recipient of the 2017 Jefferson Award; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

That this Council does hereby recognize and congratulate Dawn Heideman, the 2017 Jefferson Award recipient, on this 6th day of April 2017.