

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 0140X-2018 **Version**: 1

Type:Ceremonial ResolutionStatus:PassedFile created:5/2/2018In control:StinzianoOn agenda:5/7/2018Final action:5/10/2018

Title: To Recognize and Honor Annette Jefferson as the 2018 Recipient of the C. Joseph Sprague

Community Champion Award.

Sponsors: Michael Stinziano, Elizabeth Brown, Mitchell Brown, Jaiza Page, Emmanuel V. Remy, Priscilla Tyson,

Shannon G. Hardin

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/10/2018	1	CITY CLERK	Attest	
5/8/2018	1	ACTING MAYOR	Signed	
5/7/2018	1	COUNCIL PRESIDENT	Signed	
5/7/2018	1	Columbus City Council	Adopted	Pass

To Recognize and Honor Annette Jefferson as the 2018 Recipient of the C. Joseph Sprague Community Champion Award.

WHEREAS, Annette Jefferson is a three-time graduate of the Ohio State University, earning her Bachelor's in English Communications in 1974, her Masters in Black Studies Community Development in 1979, and finally her PhD of Social Work Administration in 1996; and

WHEREAS, She is an accomplished actress, inspiring and educating audiences about influential women of history; and

WHEREAS, Annette embodies social work in both her life and career, receiving numerous awards for her social work, such as the Jefferson Award in 2002 and the Woman of Achievement Award from the Greater Hilltop Area Community Development Corporation; and

WHEREAS, She currently serves as board chairperson at the Shalom Zone, an organization comprised of a group of residents and faith-based organizations operating in partnership with other non-profit entities, educational institutions and city and county government agencies to revitalize and improve the lives of the residents of the Greater Hilltop area of Columbus; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

That this Council does hereby recognize and honor Annette Jefferson as the 2018 recipient of the C. Joseph Sprague Community Champion Award and for her achievements in social work and her contributions to her community.