

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 0171X-2018 Version: 1

Type: Ceremonial Resolution Status: Passed
File created: 5/31/2018 In control: Stinziano
On agenda: 6/4/2018 Final action: 6/7/2018

Title: To Recognize and Congratulate the American Curling Team on Their 2018 Olympic Gold Medal Win

and Welcome Them to the City of Columbus.

Sponsors: Michael Stinziano, Elizabeth Brown, Mitchell Brown, Jaiza Page, Emmanuel V. Remy, Priscilla Tyson,

Shannon G. Hardin

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/7/2018	1	CITY CLERK	Attest	
6/6/2018	1	MAYOR	Signed	
6/4/2018	1	COUNCIL PRESIDENT	Signed	
6/4/2018	1	Columbus City Council	Adopted	Pass

To Recognize and Congratulate the American Curling Team on Their 2018 Olympic Gold Medal Win and Welcome Them to the City of Columbus.

WHEREAS, John Shuster, Tyler George, Matt Hamilton, John Landsteiner, and Joe Polo defeated Team Sweden after five consecutive victories; and

WHEREAS, prior to 2018, the United States had never won a gold medal in curling; and

WHEREAS, in response to getting cut from the national High Performance Program, John Shuster and John Landsteiner started their own team known as "The Rejects" and went on to win the 2015 National Championship, going on to represent the United States in the 2015 World Championship where they lost in a tie breaker match; and

WHEREAS, Joe Polo was added after the 2016 World Championship and the team went on to win the 2017 National Championship and the 2017 United States Olympic Curling Trials; and

WHEREAS, the team lost to Team Switzerland in the 2017 World Championship prior to facing them in the 2018 Winter Olympics and coming out victorious; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

That this Council does hereby recognize and congratulate the American curling team on their 2018 Olympic gold medal win and welcome them to the City of Columbus on June 2^{nd} , 2018.