

City of Columbus

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	0155X-2019 Version: 1		
Туре:	Ceremonial Resolution	Status:	Passed
File created:	5/1/2019	In control:	Dorans
On agenda:	5/6/2019	Final action:	5/9/2019
Title:	To Recognize and Celebrate the 2018-19 South High School Boys Basketball Team for Winning the City League Championship and Representing the City of Columbus in the OHSAA State Tournament.		
Sponsors:	Rob Dorans, Elizabeth Brown, Mitchell Brown, Shayla Favor, Emmanuel V. Remy, Priscilla Tyson, Shannon G. Hardin		
Indexes:			
Code sections:			

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/9/2019	1	CITY CLERK	Attest	
5/8/2019	1	MAYOR	Signed	
5/6/2019	1	COUNCIL PRESIDENT	Signed	
5/6/2019	1	Columbus City Council	Adopted	Pass

To Recognize and Celebrate the 2018-19 South High School Boys Basketball Team for Winning the City League Championship and Representing the City of Columbus in the OHSAA State Tournament.

WHEREAS, Coach Ramon Spears and the South High School Bulldogs ended their season 28-2 as the Division II State Runners-up on March 23, 2019 at Value City Arena on the campus of The Ohio State University after playing in the school's first State Championship Game since 1986; and

WHEREAS, the Bulldogs collected post-season tournament wins over Northland for the City League Championship, and Olentangy Berlin, Marion-Franklin, Bexley, Bishop Watterson, Norwalk, and Lima Shawnee to capture their first Regional title in school history, before defeating Thornville Sheridan in the State Semifinal game; and

WHEREAS, the 2018-19 Bulldogs finished 28-2 securing the most wins in a single season in school history and becoming the first team to play 30 games in a single season, winning the school's 19th City League Championship, earning back-to-back District titles, the third under Coach Spears and 11th in school history; and

WHEREAS, the City of Columbus is proud of the 2018-19 South High School Bulldogs: Seniors, Treohn Watkins, Alvin Byrd, Kaseim Morris-Pace; Juniors: Marcus Johnson, Sam Barton, Trevell Adams, Chaz Thomas, Taquan Simington; and Sophomores: Marquis Hawthorne, Maurice Barnes, Shemar Lindsey, and Coach Ramon Spears for continuing the winning tradition of Columbus City Schools; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

That this Council does hereby recognize and celebrate the 2018-19 Columbus South Boys Basketball Team for winning the Columbus City League Championship and representing the City of Columbus in the Division II State Championship Game.