

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Text

File #: 2975-2013, Version: 1

BACKGROUND: This ordinance dissolves seven (7) separate community redevelopment areas which are all presently located within the boundary of the Columbus Downtown Community Reinvestment Area.

Ordinance 2649-2013, approved by Columbus City Council (Council) on November 18, 2013, authorized the Director of the Columbus Department of Development to submit to the Director of the Ohio Development Services Agency, an amendment to the certification of an area designated within the City of Columbus (City) as a Community Reinvestment Area (CRA). This designated area, now known as the Columbus Downtown CRA, number 049-18000-22, was authorized by Council by Resolution 170X-92, adopted on September 28, 1992, certified by the State of Ohio also on September 28, 1992 and amended by Council by Ordinance 1345-02 on July 29, 1992.

CRAs have been designated by Council under the guidelines of Ordinance 1698-78. Such areas allow for the granting of real property tax incentives to encourage industrial, commercial and residential growth.

Within the boundary of the Columbus Downtown CRA currently exist seven (7) separate CRAs which by language within the final paragraph of Section 5 of Ordinance 2649-2013, tax abatements are no longer to be granted under the terms of those CRAs effectively rendering each of these seven (7) separate CRAs dormant and unable to be utilized to grant tax abatements.

Emergency action is requested to allow for any and all local, county and state agencies to be notified of the dissolution of these seven (7) separate CRAs.

FISCAL IMPACT: No funding is required for this legislation.

To dissolve seven (7) separate community redevelopment areas which are all presently located within the boundary of the Columbus Downtown Community Reinvestment Area, repealing the authorizing legislation and any related amendments to that legislation; and to declare an emergency.

WHEREAS, Ordinance 2649-2013, approved by Columbus City Council (Council) on November 18, 2013, authorized the Director of the Columbus Department of Development to submit to the Director of the Ohio Development Services Agency, an amendment to the certification of an area designated within the City of Columbus (City) as a Community Reinvestment Area (CRA); and

WHEREAS, this designated area, now known as the Columbus Downtown CRA, number 049-18000-22, was authorized by Council by Resolution 170X-92, adopted on September 28, 1992, certified by the State of Ohio also on September 28, 1992 and amended by Council by Ordinance 1345-02 on July 29, 1992; and

WHEREAS, CRAs have been designated by Council under the guidelines of Ordinance 1698-78 which allows for the granting of real property tax incentives to encourage industrial, commercial and residential growth; and

WHEREAS, within the boundary of the Columbus Downtown CRA currently exist seven (7) separate CRAs which by

File #: 2975-2013, Version: 1

language within the final paragraph of Section 5 of Ordinance 2649-2013, tax abatements are no longer to be granted under the terms of those CRAs; and

WHEREAS, Community Reinvestment Areas to be dissolved include the Market Mohawk CRA, the YWCA CRA, the YMCA CRA, the North Market CRA, the S. Washington CRA, the Third & Gay CRA and the S. Washington II CRA; and

WHEREAS, an emergency exists in the usual daily operation of the Department of Development, in that it is immediately necessary to dissolve said community redevelopment areas to allow for any and all local, county and state agencies to be notified of the dissolution in a timely manner, all for the preservation of the public health, property, safety and welfare; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

- **Section 1.** That Resolution 86X-88, adopted May 9, 1988, which designated the Market Mohawk CRA, CRA No. 049-18000-27, certified by the State of Ohio on May 10, 1988, is hereby repealed and the Market Mohawk CRA is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 2.** That Resolution 148X-94, adopted June 27, 1994, which designated the YWCA CRA, CRA No. 049-18000-33, certified by the State of Ohio on June 27, 1994, is hereby repealed and the YWCA CRA is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 3.** That Resolution 149X-94, adopted June 27, 1994, which designated the YMCA CRA, CRA No. 049-18000-34, certified by the State of Ohio on June 27, 1994, is hereby repealed and the YMCA CRA is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 4.** That Resolution 219X-94, adopted November 21, 1994, which designated the North Market CRA, CRA No. 049-00960-02, certified by the State of Ohio on August 11, 1995, and Resolution 74X-96 adopted June 17, 1996 and 87X-96 adopted June 24, 1996 which amended Resolution 219X-94, are hereby repealed and the North Market CRA is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 5.** That Resolution 220X-94, adopted November 21, 1994, which designated the S. Washington CRA, CRA No. 049-00960-01, certified by the State of Ohio on August 11, 1995, and Resolution 138X-95, adopted July 31, 1995, which amended Resolution 220X-94 are hereby repealed and the S. Washington CRA is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 6.** That Resolution 51X-96, adopted April 29, 1996, which designated the Third & Gay CRA, CRA No. 049 -00960-03, certified by the State of Ohio on May 13, 1996 is hereby repealed and the Third & Gay CRA is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 7.** That the S. Washington II CRA, CRA No. 049-18000-01, certified by the State of Ohio on May 4, 2001, is hereby dissolved.
- **Section 8**. That the Director of Development is hereby directed to notify the necessary local and state agencies of any changes to the Market Mohawk CRA, the YWCA CRA, the YMCA CRA, the North Market CRA, the S. Washington CRA, the Third & Gay CRA and the S. Washington II CRA.
- **Section 9.** That for the reason stated in the preamble hereto, which is hereby made a part hereof, this ordinance is hereby declared to be an emergency measure and shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage and approval by the Mayor, or ten days after passage if the Mayor neither approves nor vetoes the same.