

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Text

File #: 0076X-2016, Version: 1

To honor and celebrate the 2015-16 Columbus Africentric Lady Nubians Girls Basketball Team for being crowned the Ohio Division III State Champions.

WHEREAS, Coach Will McKinney and the Columbus Africentric Lady Nubians ended their 24-5 season with a 59-37 victory over the Marion-Pleasant Spartans on March 12, 2016 at Value City Arena on the campus of The Ohio State University to win their fifth state championship in seven years; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Nubians collected post-season tournament wins over Mount Gilead, Johnstown Northridge, Marion Elgin, Cardington-Lincoln, Attica Seneca East, Metamora Evergreen, and Ironton on their way to the State Championship game against Marion-Pleasant; and

WHEREAS, The State Championship game was an exciting one for the Lady Nubians. Africentric trailed 10-11 after the first quarter. Going into halftime, Marion-Pleasant held a 23-19 lead. The Lady Nubians took back the lead early on in the second half thanks to a 10-0 run to start the third quarter. Africentric outscored Pleasant 16-3 in the quarter to take a 35-25 lead going into the fourth. A stifling Africentric defense and converting off turnovers made for a strong finish for the Lady Nubians, who outscored Pleasant 24-11 in the fourth quarter and 40-14 in the second half. Africentric scored 32 points off of 36 forced turnovers; and

WHEREAS, The City of Columbus is proud of the 2015-16 Basketball Lady Nubians: Briana Foster, Zharia Lenoir, Kynnedy Azubike, Chyna Chambers, De'jae Denham, Amari Grace, Leah Morrow, Iyana Hairston, Antoinette Williams, Kayanna Hopson, Jordan Horston, and Kazhmere Smith-Hopgood for continuing the winning tradition of Columbus Public Schools; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

Does hereby honor and celebrate honor and celebrate the 2015-16 Columbus Africentric Lady Nubians Girls Basketball Team for winning the Ohio Division III Girls Basketball State Championship.