

# City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

# **Legislation Text**

File #: 1888-2016, Version: 1

This ordinance authorizes the Director of the Recreation and Parks Department to approve nine (9) current City parklands to be named and designated as City of Columbus Nature Preserves.

**Background:** The Nature Preserve Advisory Council has recommended that nine preserve areas to be included with the existing six due to the significance of the natural resources that exist in each of these parklands including but not limited to high quality wetlands; vernal pools; pollinator areas; geological features; rare, threatened, or endangered plants and animals; and sensitive habitats relative to the trees. The nine new preserve designations are Hoover Prairie and Woodland, Lawrence Woods Natural Area (Hoover), Sawmill Road-Hickory Woods Parkland, Webster Park Bird Sanctuary, Beechwold Parkland, Kenney Park Forest, Mock Park Forest, Lazelle Woods Forest, and Rush Run Park.

The Nature Preserves increase the amount of hiking and nature walks throughout the City. The Green Memo III goals and objectives also speak to an increase in conservation and natural areas.

### **Principal Parties:**

\*There are no external parties to this legislation.

Fiscal Impact: None

**Benefits to the Public:** These Nature Preserves will help to conserve areas as well as increasing the amount of hiking and nature walks throughout the City.

**Community Input Issues:** Input received from the Friends Groups that are associated with each of these parks along with the School of Environment and Natural Resources at The Ohio State University.

#### Area(s) Affected:

Hoover Prairie and Woodland (4)
Lawrence Woods Natural Area (DEL)
Sawmill Road-Hickory Woods Parkland (2)
Webster Park Bird Sanctuary (10)
Beechwold Parkland (10)
Kenney Park Forest (10)
Mock Park Forest (11)
Lazelle Woods Forest (3)
Rush Run Park (10)

**Master Plan Relation:** This project will support the mission of the Recreation and Parks Master Plan by designating special conservation areas that are in need protection.

This ordinance authorizes the Director of the Recreation and Parks Department to approve nine (9) current City parklands to be named and designated as City of Columbus Nature Preserves. (\$0.00)

WHEREAS, the Recreation and Parks Department of the City of Columbus recognizes the existence and importance of

## File #: 1888-2016, Version: 1

these natural areas and resources; and

WHEREAS, it is recognized that protecting water sources and improving water quality and preserving wetlands is a public benefit for drinking water and stormwater; and

WHEREAS, unique areas exist within the Columbus Recreation and Park system that deserve special protection by virtue of their natural areas and habitat provided to migratory birds; and

WHEREAS, the Recreation and Parks Department recognizes the need to preserve and protect these areas for the education and benefit of the people of Columbus; NOW, THEREFORE,

#### BE IT ORDAINED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

**SECTION 1.** That the Director of the Recreation and Parks Department is authorized to approve the following Parklands to be named and designated as Nature Preserves: the Hoover Prairie and Woodland, Lawrence Woods Natural Area (Hoover), Sawmill Road-Hickory Woods Parkland, Webster Park Bird Sanctuary, Beechwold Parkland, Kenney Park Forest, Mock Park Forest, Lazelle Woods Forest, and Rush Run Park Nature Preserves.

**SECTION 2.** That this ordinance shall take effect and be in force from and after the earliest period allowed by law.