

Legislation Text

File #: 0193X-2016, Version: 1

To Honor and Recognize the National Association of Women Business Owners Columbus, Ohio Chapter for empowering women entrepreneurs to reach greater economic, political, and social heights.

WHEREAS, NAWBO Columbus was founded in 1996 by Marcia Swigart Hoyt to bring women business owners together to provide support and peer networking; and

WHEREAS, the organization is a center for influence and innovation that works to provide insightful and constructive commentary on the status of women in business. NAWBO works with women to develop and grow strong and profitable businesses, build strategic alliances, coalitions and affiliations, transform public policy, and influence opinion makers; and

WHEREAS, each year NAWBO Columbus honors one Central Ohio woman business owner who has achieved success with her business while making notable contributions to her community, her industry, and toward initiatives for other women in business; and

WHEREAS, NAWBO Columbus hosts the Visionary Awards Gala as a prestigious way to recognize the incredible women who make a substantial effort to dedicate their time and resources toward identifying issues and advocating for social change in their communities, while they still maintain and grow their business; and

WHEREAS, the 2016 Visionary Awards Gala, to be held on July 29th, has five nominees receiving the 2016 Visionary Award: Jill Frey, Joelle Brock, Leena Madan, Elizabeth Blount McCormick, and Mary McCarthy; and

WHEREAS, the visionary women of NAWBO make Central Ohio an economically strong and socially progressive environment where women can pursue entrepreneurial interests that lead them towards economic, social, and political achievement, now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS: That we hereby honor and recognize the National Association of Women Business Owners Columbus, Ohio Chapter for advancing women entrepreneurs toward economic, social and political achievement.