

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Text

File #: 0105X-2019, Version: 1

To congratulate Marilyn Mehaffie as the 2019 Community Service Award recipient

WHEREAS, The George Meany Awards Banquet, the largest labor recognition of its kind in the country is a night for the Central Ohio AFL-CIO and the United Way Community Services Department to recognize local business and labor leaders who have given outstanding volunteer service to the community; and

WHEREAS, The George Meany Awards, named after the late George Meany, former President of the national AFL-CIO, are presented by the Central Ohio AFL-CIO to a labor person for outstanding leadership and support of health, welfare and recreation services to the Central Ohio Community; and

WHEREAS, Marilyn has worked in the social service field for the past 33 years. Starting with a college internship at St. Vincent Family Center, her love of children and their welfare became apparent starting point in her career; and

WHEREAS, soon after college, she started as a Youth Group Worker for St. Stephen's Community House in May 1998. Through the years, she has held different roles; involved in every aspect of the organization; and

WHEREAS, Marilyn has effectively demonstrated her leadership skills in the day to day operations of St. Stephen's and oversight of all programs and services. She has works on transitioning of all programs and services. She has worked on transitioning the agency to a culture of excellence, high productivity and impactful programs and services; and

WHEREAS, Marilyn's leadership and commitment to the Linden community aligns with the organization's mission. With a spotlight and new perspective held by stakeholders, funders, and residents to seize the opportunity for real transformation for Linden to become a strong and vibrant neighborhood; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS: That we hereby congratulate Marilyn Mehaffie as the 2019 Community Service Award recipient.