

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Text

File #: 0163X-2019, Version: 1

To honor and congratulate Charles Thompkins as a recipient of the 2019 Jefferson Award recognizing his many years of commitment and dedication to the Milo-Grogan Community

WHEREAS, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Senator Robert Taft, Jr., of Ohio created the national Jefferson Awards in 1972 to highlight the works of unsung heroes. Television stations and newspapers across the country tell the positive stories about these volunteers and motivate individual responsibility for civic and neighborhood improvement.

WHEREAS, The Jefferson Awards are presented by WBNS-10TV and Lifeline of Ohio to recognize individuals who do extraordinary things in their community without expecting anything in return.

WHEREAS, Charles Thompkins was born in Cambridge, Ohio but has been a life-long resident of the Milo-Grogan neighborhood in Columbus, Ohio. He has served as President of the Columbus Recreation and Parks Milo-Grogan CRC for over 15 years. His volunteering spans for over 40 years. Mr. Thompkins life-long goal is to help a homeless family off the streets and into a home to give them a fresh start. While all acts of kindness and caring were not captured by photo or film, Mr. Thompkins "momentum" has not waivered since he started volunteering at age 13.

WHEREAS, Charles Thompkins was instrumental in getting the new Milo-Grogan Recreation Center built which consisted of securing almost 4 million dollars by working with the Mayor, City Council and Alan McKnight and Malik Willoughby.

WHEREAS, the members of the Milo-Grogan Community, nominated him for the 2019 10tv Jefferson Award for his selflessness and countless hours of community service to improve the lives of others

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS: That this Council does hereby congratulate Charles Thompkins as recipients of the 2019 Jefferson Award recognizing his many years of commitment and dedication to the Milo-Grogan Community