

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Text

File #: 0287X-2019, Version: 1

To recognize and celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first all-women research team in Antarctica from The Ohio State University

WHEREAS, in 1969 researchers from the Institute of Polar Studies at The Ohio State University, now called the Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center, constituted the first all-woman scientific team from the United States to work in Antarctica; and

WHEREAS, the team was led by geochemist Dr. Lois M. Jones with entomologist Kay L. Lindsay, geologist Eileen McSaveney, and chemistry student Terry Lee Tickhill forming the rest of the four-person research expedition; and

WHEREAS, the groundbreaking 1969 expedition helped open doors for women scientists across the globe and served as an inspiration to women and girls of all ages to explore research and careers in science; and

WHEREAS, the Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center is to be commended for its role in supporting the 1969 expedition and continues to be an asset to the City of Columbus as it maintains research excellence and supports public engagement in polar and climate studies while fostering a collaborative, interdisciplinary, and inclusive community of investigators; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lois M. Jones, Kay L. Lindsay, Eileen McSaveney, and Terry Lee Tickhill demonstrated courage, dedication, resourcefulness, and perseverance during their successful research expedition to Antarctica that is deserving of the highest praise; now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS: That this Council does hereby recognize and celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first all-women research team in Antarctica from The Ohio State University.