

City of Columbus

Office of City Clerk 90 West Broad Street Columbus OH 43215-9015 columbuscitycouncil.org

Legislation Text

File #: 2472-2020, Version: 1

The purpose of this legislation is to authorize the Director of Public Utilities to pay the State of Ohio, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA) Annual Discharge Fees for the Jackson Pike and Southerly Wastewater Treatment Plants, and the Storm Water MS4 Annual Discharge Fee for fiscal year 2020.

House Bill 152 became law in July 1993. This law created a series of fees which provides financial support of the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency. Included in these fees are an annual Wastewater Treatment Plant Discharge Fee, and an annual Municipal Storm Water Discharge Fee, assessed to public dischargers that needs to be paid by holders of NPDES permits.

The Division of Sewerage and Drainage holds two such Wastewater Treatment Plant Discharge permits, Jackson Pike Permit Number 4PF00000, Southerly Permit Number 4PF00001. The Jackson Pike Wastewater Treatment Plant has discharge fees totaling \$41,400.00 and the Southerly Wastewater Treatment Plant has discharge fees totaling \$41,400.00, and payment is due on January 31, 2021. A ten percent (10%) penalty is assessed, if payment is not received on or before January 31, 2021, by the Ohio EPA.

The fees for calendar year 2020 are based upon the average volume of wastewater discharged by each facility during the previous year (2019) between May 1 and October 31. During this period, the Jackson Pike Wastewater Treatment Plant averaged 66.6375 MGD and the Southerly Wastewater Treatment Plant averaged 97.7265 MGD.

The Division of Sewerage and Drainage, Stormwater Section holds one such permit, Municipal Storm Water Discharge Permit Number 4PI00000*CD. The Stormwater section has discharge fees totaling \$10,000.00, and payment is due on January 31, 2021. A ten percent (10%) penalty is assessed if payment is not received on or before January 31, 2021 by the Ohio EPA.

The Municipal Storm Water Discharge fees for calendar year 2020 are based upon the Area Permitted (square miles) of 225.797 x \$100 (not to exceed \$10,000) for the previous year (2019).

SUPPLIER: Treasurer of State of Ohio, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (31-1334820) DAX #005089, Governmental Entity

FISCAL IMPACT: \$92,800.00 is needed and budgeted to pay these fees.

\$92,800.00 was paid in 2019 \$92,800.00 was paid in 2018

To authorize the Director of Public Utilities to pay the annual Discharge Fees for Fiscal Year 2020 to the Treasurer of State of Ohio, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency for the Division of Sewerage and Drainage; and to authorize the expenditure of \$82,800.00 from the Sewer Operating Sanitary Fund and \$10,000.00 from the Storm Sewer Operating Fund. (\$92,800.00)

File #: 2472-2020, Version: 1

WHEREAS, House Bill 152 became law in July 1993 and created a series of fees which provide financial support to the State of Ohio, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency; and

WHEREAS, included in these fees is an annual Wastewater Treatment Plant Discharge Fee, and an annual Municipal Storm Water Discharge Fee assessed to public dischargers, to be paid by holders of NPDES permits; and

WHEREAS, the Division of Sewerage and Drainage holds such permits for the Jackson Pike and Southerly Wastewater Treatment Plants, and the Stormwater Section; and

WHEREAS, the fees for calendar year 2020 are based upon the average volume of wastewater discharged by each facility during the previous year (2019), between May 1 and October 31. During this period, the Jackson Pike Wastewater Treatment Plant averaged 66.6375 MGD and the Southerly Wastewater Treatment Plant averaged 97.7265 MGD; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Storm Water Discharge fee for calendar year 2020 is based upon the Area Permitted (square miles) of 225.797 x \$100 (not to exceed \$10,000) for the previous year (2019), and

WHEREAS, the Wastewater Treatment Plant fees were first paid in January 1994, and the Municipal Storm Water Discharge fees and annual Public Discharger fees were first paid in January 2004. With the exception of the annual Public Discharger fee which is no longer charged, all fees have been paid each year thereafter, and have been budgeted for the 2020 payments; and

WHEREAS, payment is due on or before January 31, 2021 to prevent a ten percent (10%) penalty; and

WHEREAS, it has become necessary in the usual daily operation of the Department of Public Utilities, Division of Sewerage and Drainage, to authorize the Director of Public Utilities to pay for the annual Discharge Fees for 2020 with the State of Ohio, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency; now, therefore

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COLUMBUS:

SECTION 1. That the Director of Public Utilities be and is hereby authorized to pay the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, through the Treasurer, State of Ohio, Ohio EPA, P. O. Box 77005, Cleveland, OH 44194-7005 for annual Discharge Fees for 2020 upon receipt of proper invoices.

SECTION 2. That the expenditure of \$92,800.00, or so much thereof as may be needed, is hereby authorized, in Fund 6100 Sewer Operating Sanitary Fund in object class 03 Services in the amount of \$82,800.00, and in Fund 6200 Storm Sewer Operating Fund in object class 03 Services in the amount of \$10,000.00 per the accounting codes in the attachment to this ordinance.

SECTION 3. That the funds necessary to carry out the purpose of this ordinance are hereby deemed appropriated, and the City Auditor shall establish such accounting codes as necessary.

SECTION 4. That this ordinance shall take effect and be in force from and after the earliest period allowed by law.